Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

Mike89406
Topic Author

Airport Baggage Tug Towing Question

Thu Jul 23, 2015 3:09 am

Let me preface this by saying I'm a pretty new Ramp Agent. I recently got my SIDA badge and am fairly comfortable driving the belt loader, pushback tug, and baggage tugs under normal operations that don't require tight spaces.
I hookup the pushback to the Towbar/Aircraft, drive the belt loader up to the pits before uploading.

That all said I was asked to ride along to pickup cargo before the first morning flights. After pickup the ramper asked me to drive... Except it had the maximum 4 carts hooked up. We get to the first aircraft to drop off some cargo and the ramper asked me to do a u-turn between the 2 aircraft and jetways however there wasn't much room and I turned a little too sharp where 2 trailers edges got really close and the ramper helped me back it up and guide me out.

Another ramper asked if I could drive some trailers to drop off to our bag room drop offpick up point, however when you drive inside you can't back up and have to do a u-turn to get out. At that point one of the carts got close again to the carousel so I stopped and asked a lead for help getting around just to be safe. The lead and I unhooked the trailers and hand pushed them next to the carousel.

My question is... what's the best way to execute a turn with the baggage tug in tight spaces/u-turns? I feel that I did the best I could considering the circumstances and played safe, however I'm still uncomfortable in that situation.

N353SK

RE: Airport Baggage Tug Towing Question

Thu Jul 23, 2015 3:56 am

Honestly, four carts is too much for you right now. Start with two and your way up.

Classa64

Thu Jul 23, 2015 2:13 pm

Practice makes perfect, is there a time or place that you could set up some cones and practice? Curious that's all.