Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

uclax
Topic Author

PmUA Procedures

Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:36 am

Hello,
First of all, I don't want this to be a UA vs. CO thread. I have had wonderful experiences with both.

I've heard references to pmUA's operating procedures being different than other carriers' in many ways, and I was wondering in what ways.

On an LAX-DEN-LHR-LAX trip in 2009, I noticed two things that really impressed me about UA. First, as a physician, I've assisted with or witnessed in-flight medical emergencies on four different carriers. All handled the events with strong professionalism. One occurred during that trip and resulted in a diversion. In addition to professionalism, the flight attendants were very organized, with a very clear chain of command and individual responsibilities that each handled in a very organized, efficient, and effective manner.

Also, when listening to channel 9 through very intense turbulence, the controller was offering pilots the choice to "punch through" or "fly around" a bad patch. The UA
crews in the area consistently chose to "fly around", while most others chose to "punch through".

This professionalism (both with pmUA and pmCO teams) on the ground and in the air is especially impressive.

How have UA's SOPs (before and after the merger) differed from those of most other carriers, and do they tend to be more cautious/conservative ?

Thanks in advance!

[Edited 2016-02-20 21:58:40]

barney captain

RE: PmUA Procedures

Sun Feb 21, 2016 8:34 am

While I can't speak for specific UA/PmUA guidance, I can offer this - it's quite likely a crew decision over any specific policy.