Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

AstroNav
Topic Author

Military Flight Jackets

Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:06 pm

I've been wearing them since 1987.

I've crashed an FZR 600 in them, got drunk in one and tore it badly - and gave one to an old girlfriend who loved it.

One of my friends from school borrowed my Eric Hartmann hand-made replica and doesn't seem to want to give it back (he's had it for over 10 years).

I have a small collection and I love them - from WW2 US/ German, Vietnam to modern day Nomex.

--

Does anyone else wear these jackets?

I never liked the British ones and I never thought about what the Russians wear.

--

Tell me about your flight jackets.

kc135topboom

Re: Military Flight Jackets

Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:45 pm

I got mine issued to me back in the 1980s. I still have it with my name tag, wings and rank. It also has a Strategic Air Command patch on it.

AstroNav
Topic Author

Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:08 pm

Nice kc135. I want to upload photos but not sure how to.

kc135topboom

Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:53 pm

I don't know how to do that, either.

AstroNav
Topic Author

Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:30 pm

Users aren't permitted to upload photo's from what I have read in the site-related forums.

That's a shame as I have some very nice flight jackets - some WW2 US/ German made to exact spec.

N965UW

Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:24 am

I wear both a black leather A2 and a modern repro MA-1. Though not quite as nice as the real thing, they get the job done.

The A2 is my go-to Civil Air Patrol flight jacket. It has my wings/name & rank tag and the CAP command patch velcroed on. We wear black to be distinctive from the USAF and their brown A2s.

The MA-1 is nicer when it's raining. No leather damage to worry about. Haven't gotten around to putting my patches on it though.