Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

BWIAirport
Topic Author

Why did you fall in love with aviation?

Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:21 pm

This was just something I was thinking about recently and I would love to hear your stories. Can you think of a moment in your lives that turned aviation from a hobby or interest into a passion?

I think mine was my first transatlantic flight. I was a freshman in high school back in March 2013 and my family was headed to Italy for spring break.
The entire aura surrounding this trip - getting to leave school early, making the drive up to PHL (we'd typically use BWI as we live just north of Baltimore), and the prospect of flying on the first widebody I can remember, along with my first long haul flight, was the perfect buildup. Our itinerary was PHL-FRA-FLR on Lufthansa, using their A340-300 and E190. I even remember the sky looked like it was going to storm the whole night but it never did, so the contrast against the dark sky felt really cool too.

The whole drive up, I was nervous about getting a window seat. I heard the adults scheming to put us kids in the middle four seats of Lufthansa's A340 economy class. As luck would have it, I weaseled my way to the front of our group, made my way to our block of seats in rows 26 and 27, and asserted myself into 27K, where I would find myself facing the most perfect wing view I've ever seen. From then on, I always try to get a seat right at the back of the base of the wing. You can see every detail, every deflection in the control surfaces, including the slats, from that angle. All because I lucked into this seat.

Dinner (my first meal on a plane) was a delicious teriyaki chicken and rice dish. From that point forward, I loved every meal I had on a plane. Maybe I'm just always excited to be flying. But that meal was perfect.

We flew through the night, which is something I always find relaxing and therapeutic. I didn't sleep a wink of course.