Page 1 of 1

A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:14 pm
by jumpseatflyer
I must confess...
I love the A380 very much. Its a beautiful plane despite its absolute gargantuanity [yes, I made that word up].

However, I'm tired of A380s crowding all the flightsim websites whenever I search for a respectable A320 panel or a solid flight model. I can't understand why anyone would be attracted to flying the A380 on FS. I imagine it would be hell on anyone's system anyways. I'd rather spend the time playing "Alaskan Airlines pilot for a day"... that day with 7 flights in 4 hours : )

Do you guys [and gals] have any thoughts?

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:27 pm
by freedomtofly
Well I've found some good freeware models of the A380, but only flew them around on "test flights." I'm sure in the future, most of the routes will be similar to the 747-400. I guess for me it's more fun trying to takeoff and land and see what altitude I can can take it too, for now at least. Once the A380 comes into service in the real world and we get some routes goin, then maybe I'll think about doin a "real" flight with it. Btw I like that word that u made up.

Aaron

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:30 pm
by csturdiv
Call me crazy, but I just downloaded Mike Stone's A380 in house colors. I have not installed it yet, but I've been toying with the idea of writing flightplans for it to do some simulated test flights and to recreate some of the flights that it has been on so far.

Right now I am planning on doing my longest flight in a long time, a NYC-JFK to Bermuda flight in an AA 762 (Project Opensky model). Up until now my longest flight was from Cape Town, South Africa to Mount Pleasant, Falkland Islands in a custom painted Project Opensky 747-400. (I have numerous custom painted AC: Dreamwings E170, Kittyhawk 738, Project Opensky 747-400 and a Dornier 228.)

Craig

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:53 pm
by yooyoo
Quoting Csturdiv (Reply 2):
Call me crazy

Crazy  Wink

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:36 pm
by ACDC8
Sorry, I don't mean to be rude but I'm just a bit confused at your point.

Quoting Jumpseatflyer (Thread starter):
I can't understand why anyone would be attracted to flying the A380 on FS

Why would someone want to fly the B744?

Quoting Jumpseatflyer (Thread starter):
imagine it would be hell on anyone's system anyways.

How and why?

Quoting Jumpseatflyer (Thread starter):
must confess...
I love the A380 very much. Its a beautiful plane despite its absolute gargantuanity



Quoting Jumpseatflyer (Thread starter):
However, I'm tired of A380s crowding all the flightsim websites whenever I search for a respectable A320 panel or a solid flight model

 Confused

Like I said, I'm not trying to be rude but can you be a bit more specific on what it is you're looking for?

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 10:32 pm
by csturdiv
Quoting YooYoo (Reply 3):
Quoting Csturdiv (Reply 2):
Call me crazy

Crazy

You are not the first one to call me crazy and more than likely, you'll not be the last one either.  laughing 

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 11:19 pm
by SA006
Like ACDC8 , I am confused at your post.

Quoting Jumpseatflyer (Thread starter):
I imagine it would be hell on anyone's system anyways.

 scratchchin 

-SA006

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 2:04 am
by BMIFlyer
Check out my FS2004 A380 video on flightsim.com  Wink

Search for 'Brompton' under FS2004 Misc.....

Thanks


Lee

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:30 am
by jumpseatflyer
Sorry to confuse...

I find that with my system at least, non-default aircraft are a problem as far as bad frame rates and stalling the game goes (I don't know why, I'm not much a techie, I just love flying).

I love the A380 in real life as a technical milestone and I am taken aback by its size. However, I just don't see it being practical on FS. I don't think the 777 or 747 are very practical either, and realistic flights in theses AC are a lot less fun.

Just wondering how other simmers feel about it...
-Paul

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:20 am
by ACDC8
I see what you mean. Personally I like having the mix. I love doing shorter flights especially within Europe, but everyonce in a while, I like to do a trip across the pond in a DC10 or B747.

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 6:14 am
by aircanada333
Quoting Csturdiv (Reply 5):
You are not the first one to call me crazy and more than likely, you'll not be the last one either.

Crazy
Maybe I will be the last one.
 Wink

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:35 pm
by AirPacific747
Quoting Csturdiv (Reply 5):
You are not the first one to call me crazy and more than likely, you'll not be the last one either.  

Crazy

Quoting Aircanada333 (Reply 10):
Crazy
Maybe I will be the last one.

Nope! Big grin

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 2:57 am
by SA006
Quoting Jumpseatflyer (Reply 8):
I don't think the 777 or 747 are very practical either, and realistic flights in theses AC are a lot less fun.

Try out some good payware models of these types and you will change your mind  Wink But yes , flying longhaul can seems pointless and boring for some but I occasionally enjoy doing it.

-SA006  wave 

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 4:20 pm
by csturdiv
I warned you guys that I am crazy. I just compiled a rough draft set of flightplans for the A380. Now I need to go back and tweak them some.



Craig

RE: A380 In Flight Sim?

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 6:18 pm
by airbusA346
Is there a panel for the A380 which looks like the photo below:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Andrew Hunt - AirTeamImages



Is it possible to get:
-tail camera views
-and an EFB

Tom.