Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

tpk
Topic Author

Vignetting Problem

Fri Sep 29, 2000 5:42 am

I have been photographing aircraft for about 12 years. Up until 4 months ago, I was using an old manual focus Canon AE-1. Recently, I purchased an EOS with a new autofocus zoom lens and circular polarizer. I have been experiencing a lot of problems with vignetting that have ruined otherwise perfect shots. The thing that confuses me is I can have two shots in sequence (same subject and light conditions) and one will have it while the other doesn't. I suspect that it has something to do with the polarizer, but I am not sure. Because of the pale sky that often occurs without the polarizer, I am not ready to give up using it if I don't have to. If anyone has any suggestions, I would appreciate the help.

I use a 80-300mm zoom lens, a circular polarizer, and Kodachrome 64 slide film.

Thanks.

rindt

RE: Vignetting Problem

Fri Sep 29, 2000 8:50 am

I've got a solution for you! Come up here to Canada, and experience blue skies, without having the need for a polarizer to make the sky blue.  
I used a cheap $250US 28-300mm lense, and quite often I'd get the vignetting, which only seemed to appear on the right hand side of the slide... since then I have purchased a $1500US lense, and the vignetting is completely gone. Now, I'm not saying you need to buy the best lense, I'm just saying that the reason why I had vignetting on otherwise perfect shots is because of the lense, not the polarizer, camera, etc. It's only too bad I didn't have my new lense many moons ago.