Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

chase
Topic Author

Best Method For Converting Slides To Digital?

Wed May 06, 2009 8:17 pm

Last summer my mom gave me some slides that my dad took while spotting airside at STL around 1981. I haven't looked at them recently, but I remember seeing OZ, TW, and DL aircraft. I think some may be good enough to be posted on a.net. (However, I'm no expert - I have only ever submitted one photo here, and it was rejected)

My question is: what's a good, cheap, and reliable way to convert these slides into JPGs so that I can try submitting them here? Quantity-wise, we're talking about approximately 50 slides.

I have a 4-in-1 flatbed scanner - is it just a matter of scanning the slide and then inverting the colors in Photoshop?

Thanks!

Edit: For that matter, would I even be allowed to submit photos to a.net that were taken by my father and not by me?

[Edited 2009-05-06 13:19:22]

oly720man

RE: Best Method For Converting Slides To Digital?

Wed May 06, 2009 8:55 pm

Quoting Chase (Thread starter):
I have a 4-in-1 flatbed scanner - is it just a matter of scanning the slide and then inverting the colors in Photoshop?

The scanner should work with slides and negatives so you shouldn't need to invert the colours.

Quoting Chase (Thread starter):
Edit: For that matter, would I even be allowed to submit photos to a.net that were taken by my father and not by me?

Many others have. If you do a photo search with "my father" as keywords there are plenty. From the ones there it seems that you state in the remarks that your father was the photographer and upload in your name.
wheat and dairy can screw up your brain

2H4

Wed May 06, 2009 9:06 pm

I scanned a number of old slides using an expensive Nikon Coolscan scanner owned by my employer. It might be worth checking to see if your local library has a nice one that you can use.

2H4
Intentionally Left Blank

Jalap

Wed May 06, 2009 10:20 pm