Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

Silver1SWA
Topic Author

Help With Preparing Image For Print.

Mon Jun 22, 2009 7:47 pm

Hey,

I have recently been contacted about photo usage for a Calendar. The only request is that the image be at 300ppi or greater. They were not able to provide dimensions needed. I'm just not sure how to properly set up my photo to match the required resolution. I have little experience with this.

Any help?

Thank you.
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.

walter2222

RE: Help With Preparing Image For Print.

Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:40 pm

Hi Ryan,

Since 300ppi means 300 "pixels per inch", it depends on your photo-size what format they will be able to print (e.g. if your original is 3600x2400 pixels, the print will be 12 x 8 inches). If they would print at 200ppi, the photo would be 18 x 12 inches. If they want to print at a higher resolution than 300ppi, then the photo will be smaller. For a calendar, 300ppi seems normal (but I have had posters made at a lower ppi setting with still reasonable quality).

PS: Editing for print is also different from editing for websites. It might also be wise to ask in which color space they will be working (if they want to do some editing themselves before final printing).

Good luck (and keep us informed about the outcome)!,

Best regards,

Walter
Canon 347d mkII ;-) - EFS10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM - EFS18-55mm - EF28-105mm f3.5/4.5 - EF100-400mm f4.5-5.6l IS USM - ...

Silver1SWA
Topic Author

Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:20 am

Thanks Walter. I'm still confused though. I guess what I'm trying to find out is a step-by-step process in Photoshop to turn my original photo into a photo matching their only specification which is that it must be at least 300ppi. I have found explanations of what 300ppi means, but I'm not sure how to properly set that up.