Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

 
EMA747
Topic Author
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:01 am

Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Mon May 31, 2010 8:11 pm

Anyone using one for avaition and what are your thoughts on it? How is it in high ISO situations. What about focus tracking?

I bought a 7D a few months ago and I've just really not got on with it and think I might sell the 7D and add a bit of cash I've recently come back and get a used 1DmkIII. Nothing at all wrong as such with the 7D I just can't seem to get on with it.

Andy S
 
aviopic
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:52 pm

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Mon May 31, 2010 9:36 pm

I do Andy.
High ISO is very good and certainly comparable with my 5D.
AF is as expected for a high end body very good and fast, beware some bodies(like mine) do have a problam with Servo AF though.
It's a interference problem causing one side of the frame to overexpose(well it turns completely orange) and can only be solved with a new shutter mechanism for which I didn't have time yet.
On the US canon site an affected serial number list can be found.

Willem
 
aviopic
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:52 pm

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Mon May 31, 2010 9:49 pm

Did some quick research.
It's not a shutter but mirror problem.
The Service Notice can be found here:
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...odelid=14999&keycode=2112&id=39707

It's not to big a problem because single shot AF is still more then fast enough and even fast jets don't require Servo AF btw.
Still it is supposed to work properly though.
 
EMA747
Topic Author
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:01 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Mon May 31, 2010 10:47 pm

Thanks Willem. Sound like it's fine for aviation then (as expected really).
 
NicolasRubio
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:45 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:50 am

Quoting EMA747 (Thread starter):
I bought a 7D a few months ago and I've just really not got on with it and think I might sell the 7D and add a bit of cash I've recently come back and get a used 1DmkIII. Nothing at all wrong as such with the 7D I just can't seem to get on with it.

I was between the 7D and the 1D Mark III back in January when I got my 7D. I was very very happy with my decision until two weeks ago, when I realized that I didn't fell in love with the 7D due to its image quality, which leaves a lot to be desired. Really, those 18mp are WAY TOOOOOOOOO MUCH for such a small sensor, and IQ is really bad compared to my former 12mp-450D.

I'd rather sacrifice some high-ISO performance and have a 450D sensor in my 7D than gaining 6 extra megapixels at a very high IQ cost.

I am in the exact same boat as you are, so I totally understand your situation Andy.



Good luck, I hope you can work it out.

Nicolas Rubio
 
AndyEastMids
Posts: 1101
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 10:24 pm

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:55 am

I have been using a 1DIII for around three years now. I don't upload to a.net anymore, but some of my photos can be found on another commercial website (one branded as "the cartel" here a while ago!).

The 1DIII is built like a brick outhouse, and the larger form factor (built in vertical grip) is ideal for me - but some folks don't like its bulk. Higher ISO is OK, but remember its a three year old design now so it isn't quite on a par with the latest SLRs. However, IMHO the images is produces at low ISOs are superb - no need for noise reduction at all, so typically the only processing required is rotate/colour balance/dust removal and a bit of light USM. Its only 10mp though, which is a bit small by today's standards, but way plenty for a.net and indeed for "the cartel" where we only upload 3000 pixels across or more. Remember also that its a 1.3 crop sensor (not 1.6 like the xxD series), so as well as the lower pixel count the "reach" is less - if you got away with 400mm on an xxD you're going to need 500mm on a 1D, or will have to crop more agressively. The speed (up to 10 frames per second) and AF tracking are excellent (way better than anything I had before), but there were problems with AF tracking early 1DIIIs so make sure the one you buy is either outside of the affected serial range, or one that has been back to Canon for the fix. Spare batteries are rather expensive, but the battery life is typically 2000+ pictures so its never been an issue for me.

One final word of warning - once you've got comfortable with the 1D series for a while, its very difficult to go back to the smaller and slightly more flimsy xxD series... Once bitten, the only way forward is upwards. My next camera will have to be another 1D-series (not that I have any need to change yet, ever after three years), and of course they're expensive!

Andy
 
INNflight
Posts: 3527
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:11 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:16 pm

Quoting AndyEastMids (Reply 5):
once you've got comfortable with the 1D series for a while, its very difficult to go back to the smaller and slightly more flimsy xxD series... Once bitten, the only way forward is upwards. My next camera will have to be another 1D-series (not that I have any need to change yet, ever after three years), and of course they're expensive!

^^^^ Andy pretty much summed it up. Beware of the 1 series  

I have mine since 2007 now, never had the AI servo tracking problem others experienced within a certain range of serial numbers.
10fps are a blast, even though rarely used. Image quality is OUTSTANDING, dare I say better than the 5DmkII (Ive only used it a couple of times). The files are "only" 10mp, but you'll notice the IQ is brilliant on the 1s.

Other great features are the huge viewfinder the 1-series bodies have (you'll feel like you can barely see stuff when going back to a non 1D body) and the sturdyness of the cam itself. You could probably knock someone out with it and continue shooting with an undamaged cam while that guy would need an ambulance. It's built rock-solid.

Obviously, if you can, wait some time longer and get a mark IV, but I can assure you that if you get a mk III it will stick with you for a long time to come.
 
EMA747
Topic Author
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:01 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:46 pm

Quoting AndyEastMids (Reply 5):
but there were problems with AF tracking early 1DIIIs so make sure the one you buy is either outside of the affected serial range, or one that has been back to Canon for the fix.

I read a lot about the AF issues on some of them. The used one I am looking at is on a photography forum and I have bought things from before and people seem very trustworthy. The guy said he hasn't noticed any AF issues but had sent it back to Canon just as a precaution when they did the recalls. I guess it should be pretty ok if it's been checked over by Canon.

Anyone any idea what the list of affected serial numbers is? Would be useful to have the list to compare to.
 
INNflight
Posts: 3527
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:11 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 1:29 pm

They used to have a list published somewhere, if I recall it was an official Canon website. Maybe google can help.
 
AndyEastMids
Posts: 1101
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 10:24 pm

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:23 pm

The problem bodies are linked in the thread posted by Aviopic!
 
EMA747
Topic Author
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:01 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:16 pm

Quoting AndyEastMids (Reply 9):
The problem bodies are linked in the thread posted by Aviopic!

D'oh. I should read the whole thread again before I post! lol
 
garry
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:19 pm

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:05 pm

Would echo what's been said the 1 series is streets ahead of the other dslr's canon produces. I bought a MK4 earlier in the year and then added a 7D as a back up body only to sell it 2 months later as it is poor in comparison to both the MK4 and MK3.

Noise on the MK3 is ok as it's 10mp on a 1.3 crop.

I have a MK3 for sale so pm if interested - you will never go back to anything else once you've owned a 1 series.
 
LHRSIMON
Posts: 1315
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2002 5:59 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:14 pm

I use a 1D Mk III. Have done for about 3 years. All i can say fantastic bit of kit. Built like a tank. Great fps burst. Low noise even at high ISO. Also has the ability to have autofocus (centre only) with a 400 L + 1.4 x II extender.  

Does everything i need. And i will keep it for as long as it carries on going . As i really have no reason to change.

Agree with the above comments. Once you have a 1D you will never go back !!!!
 
fergulmcc
Posts: 1878
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:36 pm

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:04 pm

Hey Simon!!

What's the crack??

Yeah I have two 1D's , both the MkII n and the 1Ds. Haven't gone over to the MkIII yet but maybe next year. Agree with above, once you have a 1D you'll never go back. My 1Ds produces images that just blow me away every time.

Enjoy!

Fergul
 
LHRSIMON
Posts: 1315
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2002 5:59 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:20 pm

Hey Fergul my old buddy.....

Doing fine.... Im taking a break from the sports photography for at least a few years. It was just getting a bit to silly to be honest. Working a full day job then again working till midnight 3 to 4 nights a week covering ice hockey.... So now its just me , my 1D Mk III and the wonderful flying machines.... Heaven.

Im chilled out for the first time in years. And uploading to A.Net again which if fun.  
 
EMA747
Topic Author
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:01 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Sun Jun 20, 2010 1:50 am

Got my 1DmkIII today. I've been having a quick play with it but didn't have time to fully look at all the features.

I just wanted to ask what you guys use for the various settings for aviation. Any pointers as to what settings I should be using?
 
aviopic
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:52 pm

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:11 am

Quoting EMA747 (Reply 15):
I just wanted to ask what you guys use for the various settings for aviation. Any pointers as to what settings I should be using?

The same as you would with any other body after all it is still just a camera.
 
INNflight
Posts: 3527
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:11 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Sun Jun 20, 2010 3:54 pm

AV mode - stands for Aviation 
 
viv
Posts: 2953
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:17 pm

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:07 pm

Quoting EMA747 (Reply 15):
just wanted to ask what you guys use for the various settings for aviation. Any pointers as to what settings I should be using?

Get your white balance, shutter speed and aperture right and you'll be fine.
 
locsta
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:53 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Sun Jun 20, 2010 6:55 pm

check the custom functions for AF. There are 17 or so different settings and some can greatly effect your ability to consistently get sharp shots.
Auto WB is very good on the MkIII and in natural light conditions it is usually spot on.

Cheers,

Kevin
 
EMA747
Topic Author
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:01 am

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:02 pm

Quoting LOCsta (Reply 19):
check the custom functions for AF. There are 17 or so different settings and some can greatly effect your ability to consistently get sharp shots.

I know there are lots of different settings. Any hints what I should try setting them to?
 
aviopic
Posts: 2423
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:52 pm

RE: Anyone Using A Canon 1D MkIII?

Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:38 pm

Quoting LOCsta (Reply 19):
Auto WB is very good on the MkIII and in natural light conditions it is usually spot on.

Compared to other brands Canon's auto WB is poor, in natural light conditions it works ok-ish.

Quoting EMA747 (Reply 20):
I know there are lots of different settings. Any hints what I should try setting them to?

Not picking on you but just go out and try everything your self.
There is absolutely no point in copying some else's as we all have our own way of working and things we like or not.
Besides the fact that those options depend on the glass used(read fast).
If for example you use the popular 100-400 all those nice extra assist AF points simply don't do anything and you don't need to worry about their settings either.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos