Page 1 of 1

Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 1:05 am
by RT145
Alright so I think I've learned a bit from my last rejected photos and reading some of the threads here, now I've got a new batch of photos that I was hoping to get some feedback on. They are the full size photos so you can see the detail so just be warned before clicking.


https://imagizer.imageshack.com/img924/2589/vh5Egh.jpg
https://imagizer.imageshack.com/img924/6416/wS8vTC.jpg
https://imagizer.imageshack.com/img924/9072/BgIaLs.jpg

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 5:18 am
by Crosswindphoto
All 3 need to be sized down to the correct size for upload before any useable advice can be offered.

Tim

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 9:37 am
by ChrisLait
I would agree that they need to be resized and cropped. I also feel that they may be considered under exposed too - especially the AA 737

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 8:16 pm
by HarryLi
So, for more accurate advices on your pre-screening photos I would strongly suggest you to post those photos after fully editing because we screen your after editing-version not originals although originals can be helpful for explaning something ( i.e. blurry).

Rgrds,
Harry

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 9:38 pm
by RT145

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Mon May 18, 2020 5:36 am
by Crosswindphoto
Would still need a tighter crop.
All 3 lack contrast and are soft. Might be ok at 1200px wide.
Also very compressed, but that could be something to do with the place you uploaded the photos.

Tim

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Mon May 18, 2020 1:39 pm
by RT145
How tight does the crop need to be? Basically right on top of the plane?

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Mon May 18, 2020 2:24 pm
by Kaphias
RT145 wrote:
How tight does the crop need to be? Basically right on top of the plane?

Take a look through the database and you'll see what's typically acceptable.

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Mon May 18, 2020 4:26 pm
by JakTrax
All three originals are pretty noisy and the Learjet is blurry. While the site only screens your 'finished product' (i.e. your final edit) it's far easier to pick out flaws in the originals.

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Mon May 18, 2020 5:40 pm
by RT145

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Mon May 18, 2020 7:31 pm
by JakTrax
The Learjet is a non-starter as it's blurry. The other two are noisy and I see editing artefacts/compression around various parts of the aircraft. Are you taking these photos at the camera's maximum quality? Are you saving them once edited at maximum quality?

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Tue May 19, 2020 12:19 am
by RT145
Photos are definitely taken at the maximum quality, they're exported from lightroom reduced to the max size for a.net although I'm thinking it might be the pixels per inch setting which is currently at 240

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Tue May 19, 2020 2:19 am
by JakTrax
What camera are you using? The original images seem to be very noisy and a little sharper than I'd expect straight from the camera.

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Tue May 19, 2020 2:35 am
by RT145
90D, but the originals aren't the straight out of the camera originals. They were with edits I just didn't shrink them down because I figured it would be helpful to notice defects.

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Tue May 19, 2020 4:28 am
by Kaphias
RT145 wrote:
Photos are definitely taken at the maximum quality, they're exported from lightroom reduced to the max size for a.net although I'm thinking it might be the pixels per inch setting which is currently at 240

Pixels per inch doesn't matter unless you're physically printing photos. Having it set at 1 or 1000 will make no difference here.

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Tue May 19, 2020 8:23 am
by JakTrax
Okay. Either you're doing something wrong during editing or your settings in camera are off. What aperture, shutter speed and ISO were they captured at?

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Thu May 21, 2020 4:34 pm
by RT145
I had shot these on auto when I was trying out my Sigma 70-200 2.8. The Fedex was ISO100, 5.6 and 1/1000.

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Thu May 21, 2020 6:44 pm
by JakTrax
Learn about the camera and stay out of auto mode. Those images really are not reflective of those settings so I suspect you're either doing something wrong during processing or not using the 90D's maximum quality settings.

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 11:52 pm
by RT145
Alright let's try something a little different.

Turns out lightroom was default set at only exporting at 60% quality. That may have been part of the issue before. I've since fixed that and I also recently took this photo. Let me know what you think.

https://imagizer.imageshack.com/img923/61/UKSx4x.jpg

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 5:16 am
by Crosswindphoto
Very noisy/compressed, low in frame, the tail is a bit soft/blurry, would e better at 1200px.

Tim

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 1:55 am
by RT145

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:41 am
by Crosswindphoto
Noisy, Low in frame, very compressed, and still a bit soft.
Like before, would be better are 1200px

Tim

Re: Pre-screening RT145

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 3:30 am
by Davidjack
Image quality is still a bit low, you need to improve it even further