Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

KPTKRampy
Topic Author

Going back to 2021: Surprising my best friend DTW-JFK-LAX on jetBlue

Tue Jan 10, 2023 6:06 pm

Decided to finally talk about this trip, This was before I was taking photos of my flights, so I’ll go into as great detail as I can.

This itinerary was the first one I flew without my parents (I was 17 at the time), me and my best friend who lives in Boston decided to make a trip out west and spend sometime out there with our families for her birthday (they left a day before us), she would fly in on from BOS on an A320 and I would fly in from DTW on jetBlue’s E190, and she was in for a treat on our flight out to LAX.

Flight #1: DTW-JFK

JBU1420
Embraer E190ER
N334JB

Being a Detroit native, I have an embarrassing confession to make, I had never flown out of what now is Evans terminal until that day.

I got there as early as I could, since DTW had an ops meltdown a few days prior, and I didn’t want to take any chances. Thankfully, there wasn’t much in terms of lines to check in. I decided not to check a bag, since I was only bringing my suitcase.

So, After checking in, I had 2 and a half hours to kill. As always, jetBlue is notorious for not having lounges, and not having agreements with other airlines/alliances, so I couldn’t access any lounges. Oh well.

I decided to kill my time walking around looking at planes, nothing really interesting other than a somewhat rare Frontier A320Ceo. Granted, it was 7 AM on a sunday.

Boarding on THIS flight was in a word, hellish. Several people were being yelled at by the gate agent saying to pull their masks up (this was when the mandate was still a thing). The agent was just plain rude, I almost nearly reported her after when she questioned my age and if I should be sitting by myself, like, what are you on? B/c I certainly don’t want any of it. There was also no crowd management, what.so.ever.