sacamojus
Topic Author

Rare Report. ROA-SFB On G4 Pics!

Wed Dec 24, 2008 7:40 pm

Warning: This is my first trip report. Because I have limited experience writing these reports I will let the picture do most of the communication.

Background: I booked on G4 because they are the cheapest out of ROA to Orlando, $49 each way compared to over $400 roundtrip on the other carriers. I did splurge during booking and booked the exit row for my wife and me. The trip occured on December 23rd.

Airport:
ROA is a nice small little aiport. It doesn't have much. Just a small lounge and a newstand before security, and a small cafe in the terminal. The airport was busy that day of course given the time of year, but we did not wait more than 2 minutes to get checked in. We then proceeded to the lounge for a bite and boose. About 1 hour before departure, we went through security in 10 minutes and did some spotting (LOL).

Baggage Claim and Rental Cars

Check In

Stairs leading to security and airport amenities

Newstand

View from right outside newstand

Lounge area

View from the Lounge looking at the other gates

Lounge Dining Menu with a glass of Shiraz

Cheeseburger with french fries. It was good.

Terminal right after security

Spotting

Won't see these planes for too much longer. I wonder what will happen to airfares with a competitor gone?

Our plane coming in

Flight #768
Aircraft: MD83
Departure: 3:09 late (scheduled: 2:20)
Arrial: 4:40 late
Seat: 25 A,C exit row

Boarding:
Boarding went ok. They boarded from the back of the plane foward which seems logical. However, we were jammed up on the jetbridge due to people trying to stuff their luggage into the overhead bins. I can't blame them with G4 checked baggage fee. The plane couldn't handle all the carry on luggage and some needed to be checked.

Leg Room

View from the seat.