BWIAirport
Topic Author

The Perfect School Trip - BWI-ATL-EZE (pics + link to vid)

Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:32 pm

Who has two thumbs and just figured out how to embed my own images? :bigthumbsup: :D :bigthumbsup: <- This guy!
In the fall of my sophomore year (2017-2018), I made the decision to spend a mini-mester abroad the following May. As a Spanish student, I wanted to go somewhere Spanish-speaking. I'd be lying if I said my motivation for choosing Buenos Aires over, say, Cancun, was almost entirely being able to fly long-haul. Plus my advisor was going on this trip. It seemed like the perfect choice.

BOOKING:
The professors booked the trip. I had actually emailed them ahead of time asking for a window seat. Maybe one day I'll grow out of it. But not today.
Their preferred airport to fly out of would have either been ROA or IAD, considering we go to school in southwest Virginia. However, we had to wait until about two months in advance to book the trip (some students had passport issues) and the only available flights in their price range were out of BWI (my home airport!). Stroke of luck number one. Our itinerary was BWI-ATL-EZE on Delta Air Lines, utilizing the MD-88 and A330-300. This would be my first MD8X flight (although I had flown the DC-9 and 717 when I was much younger) and my first A330, only my third flight on a widebody that I could remember.
I received the confirmation email and saw that I had gotten a window seat on both A330 segments but was stuck in the middle for the MD-88 flights. That wasn't going to work. It turns out that it was very easy to manage my reservation with the email they gave me. I moved my seats to exactly where I like them and I was all set.
*Apologies in advance, some of these images are screenshots from the video*

TRAVEL DAY: