Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

flyinback
Topic Author

Airline Engineers

Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:53 am

This may sound like a silly question, but could someone explain to me what airline engineers do? As in, if you're say a mechanical engineer employed by an airline, what do you do? Are you stuck at a desk all day, do you spend time in the hangers with the mechanics? I'm a junior ME and obviously have a huge interest in the field, but I am unsure of what engineers employed by airlines do. Is anyone here a mechanic or engineer at IAD or ATL? Thanks for all of your input!

I'm brand new to a.net and think the place is great!

fr8mech

RE: Airline Engineers

Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:11 pm

Aircraft engineer duties vary by the department. An engineer assigned to assist maintenance will very likely be in close contact with the mechanics and the aircraft.

An engineer assigned to a reliability group will basically be desk bound and looking at trends in order to identify reliability issues and build plans to deal with adverse trends.
When seconds count, the police are minutes away, or may not come at all.
It’s hard to win an argument with a smart person, but it’s damn near impossible to win an argument with a stupid person. ~B. Murray
Ego Bibere Capulus, Ut Aliis Sit Vivere

EMBQA

Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:11 pm

Quoting FlyInBack (Thread starter):
This may sound like a silly question, but could someone explain to me what airline engineers do?

It actually has a lot to do with where in the world your talking... In Europe many airlines call mechanics Aircraft Engineers. In other parts of the world an Aircraft Engineer will be college educated and do design work with modifications, repairs and the like. They may work at Boeing, Airbus or Embraer and actually design the aircraft.
"It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog"

flyinback
Topic Author

Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:14 pm