egph
Topic Author

Piloting Career With History Of Psychosis

Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:52 pm

Hello all,

I am asking this question on behalf of a friend who is currently in high school but has been 100% set on a career as an airline pilot since before he can remember. Only problem is that he has recently been diagnosed with an episode of psychosis for which he is on medication which keeps it under control very nicely. Suppose his question is how would this medical history affect any career in aviation? He fears any previous psychotic episode whether or not it is controlled by medication would make him unsuitable for his dream job.

Kind regards

EGPH

Mir

RE: Piloting Career With History Of Psychosis

Sun Apr 08, 2012 1:59 pm

I'm assuming your friend lives in the UK. I have some experience with the process for this sort of stuff in the US (though my situation was more minor than your friend's), but I don't know a whole lot about the process in the UK.

But, nevertheless, he needs to talk to someone who knows the rules and policies on that sort of stuff very well and knows how to get people with certain issues certified. Don't just look up the examination policy and think that's it - I did that and I still ran into problems (apparently, the criteria listed in the FAA Aviation Medical Examiner's Guide aren't the criteria that are actually used).

These sorts of things may not be insurmountable. In the US, for instance, depending on what medication he's on, he may be good to fly so long as the medication is effective, and there are no adverse side effects over a certain period of time (this part actually works in his favor - since he hasn't started training yet, he won't have to ground himself for a while to make sure nothing bad happens, as opposed to someone who is flying now who would). But that's the US - the UK may be different.